top of page

Navigating Through Grief

an interactive journey

Grief is as universal as love, yet profoundly personal in its manifestation. It's an emotion that transcends borders, cultures, and languages, but also uniquely shapes and contours itself around the individual heart it touches.

Here, we invite you to embark on an interactive journey tailored to help you navigate the complexities of loss.


Whether you're seeking solace, understanding, or a simple space to reflect, our interactive exercises are designed to meet you wherever you are in your grieving process.


The truth of the matter is that the grief journey is a deeply personal and often nonlinear process that individuals go through following a loss. While many models describe the stages or phases of grief, it's essential to remember that not everyone will experience every stage or do so in a specific order.

One of the most well-known models is the "Five Stages of Grief" introduced by Elisabeth Kübler-Ross in her 1969 book "On Death and Dying." These stages include:

The initial shock of the loss can be overwhelming, leading one to deny the reality of the situation. It's a defense mechanism that buffers the immediate shock, making reality more bearable.


As the denial stage fades, the pain returns, and to deal with it, one might express anger. This anger can be directed towards others, oneself, or the situation at large.


This stage involves the hope that the individual can somehow reverse or avoid the cause of the grief. People might have thoughts like "If only I had done this differently..." or seek to negotiate with a higher power in hopes of a different outcome.


This stage entails feelings of sadness and hopelessness. One might feel numb, disinterested in daily activities, or deeply mourn the loss.


Acceptance doesn't mean that one is okay with what happened, but rather recognizing the reality of the situation. It's a stage where one starts to adapt and find ways to move forward.


Beyond the Kübler-Ross model, other models have been proposed, reflecting the multifaceted nature of grief. Some of these models incorporate stages like Shock, Disbelief, or Guilt.


Others, like the "Dual Process Model" by Margaret Stroebe and Henk Schut, suggest that grievers oscillate between loss-oriented and restoration-oriented coping.

People tend to believe that grief shrinks over time (1).jpg

As time progresses, we may wake up realizing that we have buried our pain and others don't quite know what's going on...


... which is why it's important to share with others and to acknowledge your pain and deepest feelings. You may want to consider joining a grief support group. We've created a free, private group that you can join right now.

Or, maybe you prefer 1-on-1 counseling with a professional to help support and guide you.

There is no absolute formula for handling grief, so be patient with yourself along the way. Also, be brave enough to FEEL the many flavors of emotion you will feel and not push it all away.

One way to do this is through meditation, especially when you feel like distracting yourself with unhealthy habits -- drinking too much too often, withdrawing from friends and family, becoming stagnant, and more.

The only way through the haze of grief is through embracing the pain and discomfort you're feeling.

As time progresses, there will be times in which you'll feel more like yourself and find life is worth celebrating again.


You may also experience guilt for moving on without your loved one.


During these moments, please remind yourself that you're given this one chance to experience the beauty of life. In moving forward, you'll be able to fulfill your purpose on this planet and give your all to the living (who desperately need your love and attention).

Loss and grief are realities that none of us can escape here on earth. We are all left with memories of those who touched the deepest parts of who we are.


In quiet moments, sometimes we can hear their voices. Revisiting the places where memories were made can bring deep aches to the surface... tears may flow.

"Grief is the price we pay for love," Queen Elizabeth told the family members of those lost in the 9/11 attacks.

As you move through the grief process, stay steadfast. Make friends with your deepest feelings. In time, things will be ok.


Course: Find Healing Through Journaling

bottom of page